Grueninger Family

The Sundays of the Christian year

Date specification in Church Books

The liturgical year, also known as the Christian year, consists of the cycle of liturgical seasons in some Christian churches which determines when Feasts, Memorials, Commemorations, and Solemnities are to be observed and which portions of Scripture are to be read. Western Christian liturgical calendars are based upon the cycle of the Roman or Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church, including Protestant calendars since this cycle pre-dates the Protestant Reformation. Generally, the liturgical seasons in western Christianity are Advent, Christmas, Ordinary Time (Time after Epiphany), Lent, Easter, and Ordinary Time (Time after Pentecost).

Links to Internet Pages which calculate the sundays of a Christain year:

German Middle Age - Calendar Calculator
from Dr. H. Grotefend, HTML-Version from Dr. H. Ruth
Further Links to Calendar Calculators in the Internet
Herzog August Library, Wolfenbüttel

1. Advent The first season of the liturgical year, beginning four Sundays before Christmas (25th of December) and ending on Christmas Eve (24th of December).
2. Advent
3. Advent
4. Advent
Christmas Eve 24. December
Begins on the evening of Christmas Eve (December 24th) and ends on the Feast of the Epiphany on January 6th. Christmas Day itself is December 25th. Christmas Eve can be on the 4. Advent.
Christmas Day 25. December
2. Tag des Christfestes 26. December
Time After Epiphany
Epiphany Epiphany ("the appearance") is a Christian feast on January 6th intended to celebrate the 'shining forth' or revelation of God to mankind in human form, in the person of Jesus. In the Western church, the feast of Christmas on December 25th was established before that of Epiphany. January 7th corresponds to December 25th on the Julian calendar.
1 post Epiphany 1. Sunday after Epiphany The Time after Epiphany starts on January 7th and meets the Pre-Lenten season.
etc. etc.
Pre-Lenten season / Shrovetide
Septuagesimae / Circumdederunt
9. Sunday before Easter The Pre-Lenten season begins on the 9th sunday before Easter and ends on As Wednesday. The most logical explanation for the use of these terms is that they denote the approximate number of days between each and Easter (the actual respective numbers being 63, 56 and 49).
Sexagesimae / Exsurge
8. Sunday before Easter
Quinquagesimae / Estomihi
7. Sunday before Easter
Quadragesimae / Invocavit
"Call god!"
6. Sunday before Easter Lent is the period from Ash Wednesday to Holy Saturday, the day before Easter Sunday. Lent is a major fast taken by the Church to prepare for Easter. It begins on Ash Wednesday and ends at the beginning of the Easter Vigil, at the conclusion of Holy Week.

There are forty days of Lent, counting from Ash Wednesday through the Easter Triduum, but not including Sundays. Formerly Lent was referred to by the Latin term quadragesima, or the "fortieth day" before Easter.

The final week of Lent is known as Holy Week which begins on Palm Sunday. The final three days of Lent are known as the Easter Triduum.

5. Sunday before Easter
4. Sunday before Easter
Letare (Laetare)
"Be pleased!"
3. Sunday before Easter
2. Sunday before Easter
Palm Sunday
1. Sunday before Easter
Easter The date of Easter varies from year to year, but is set to be close to the date of Jesus' resurrection. The date is set to the first sunday after full moon in spring. Thus, the earliest date for Easter is March 23rd, and the latest is April 25th. This full moon rule guarantees, that there won't be ever a solar eclipse on Good Friday again. The Easter season extends from the Easter Vigil through Pentecost Sunday on the Catholic and Protestant calendars.
"Like the newly born children"
1. Sunday after Easter The Ascension is one of the great feasts in the Christian liturgical calendar, and commemorates the bodily Ascension of Jesus into Heaven. The three days before Ascension Thursday are sometimes referred to as the Rogation days (and the previous Sunday, the Fifth Sunday after Easter, as Rogation Sunday). Ascension Day is always Thursday (the fortieth day from Easter) and thus between Rogation Sunday and Exaudi Sunday.
Misericordias Domini
"The mercifulness of the lord"
2. Sunday after Easter
3. Sunday after Easter
4. Sunday after Easter
Rogate / Rogation
5. Sunday after Easter
6. Sunday after Easter
Pentecost 7. Sunday after Easter The Christian church celebrates the Feast of Pentecost fifty days (Greek: pentekostē hēmera, the fiftieth day), or seven weeks, after the resurrection of Jesus (Easter Sunday). In line with ancient practice, Easter Sunday was counted to be the first day.
Trinity Trinity Sunday is the first Sunday after Pentecost in the Western Christian liturgical calendar. It celebrates the Christian doctrine of the Trinity, the three persons of God: the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Trinity Sunday also represents the beginning of the Church part of the liturgical year, continuing until Advent. Trinity Sunday is on the first sunday after Pentecost and on the eigth sunday after Easter. The Feast was established in 1334 as a double of the second class by Pope John XXII to celebrate the Trinity.
1 post Trinity 9. Sunday after Easter Trinity is also the beginning of the season without major feasts in the Christian year (like Christmas and Easter).
The sundays after Trinity were therefore used by the catholic and protestant church as a date specification.
2 post Trinity 10. Sunday after Easter
3 post Trinity 11. Sunday after Easter
etc. etc.